FAQ Search Memberlist Usergroups Profile Log in to check your private messages
q2scene.net Forum Index  Log in 
Quick Quake2 install by careem
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    q2scene.net Forum Index -> Quake 2
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
careem



Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 9:40 am    Post subject: Quick Quake2 install by careem Reply with quote

Are you bored making Quake2 all the time step by step? Here is the Quick Quake2 installer for you. All what you need to do is to download Quick Quake2 installer, install on your disc and play the game :)

DOWNLOAD MIRRORS:

Quick Quake2 Installer Version2 - size (151mb):
DOWNLOAD
DOWNLOAD

Quick Quake2 Installer Version3 - size (119mb): - recommended!
DOWNLOAD
DOWNLOAD
DOWNLOAD

SCREENSHOTS
screenshot
screenshot
screenshot

Quick Quake2 installer is including:
* locs
* PURRI's pak (NEW!!!)
* CAREEM's crosshair pak
* Bullz's sound pak
* name's texture pak
* r1q2
* r1gl
* servers in adress book (free for all - deathmatch) for beginners only
* Damiah's cfg (NEW!!!)
* PURRI's cfg (NEW!!!)
* CAREEM's cfg
* default cfg
* EDL maps
* Pak explorer
* Demoplayer
* Daelmun's newbie guide to 1v1 (readme txt)
* Daelmun weapons of Quake2 (readme txt)
* Readme

Quick Quake2 Installer is also at world famous gaming page ESR (Esreality.com, "where gaming meets reality")

Need help guys! What I need is some one to make a Quake2 introduction video and some one who can host Quake2 quick installer! Here is an example of this video: http://nquake.com/

Some suggestions? Feel free to post here!



Quake2 is created with Q2demo + 3.20v. All files are legal.


Last edited by careem on Sun Sep 14, 2008 1:01 pm; edited 42 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Festival



Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 14
Location: Poland / Bialystok

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no bad idea but
low hosting :<
and 97 mb?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
careem



Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can still upload on some more sites Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
name



Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Posts: 348

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm glad you used my textures, Careem, but these older ones looks quite grim even to me now. So for the latest textures I preferred to use brighter colors. BTW, I think you should set gl_coleredlightmaps 0 in default config. Else looks nice. GJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
careem



Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will try to do my best in next Quick Q2 installer, and of course I'm glad you like it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
magnata



Joined: 08 Aug 2007
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

good work man, need to be refined maybe, but am not the one who knows whats best Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
careem



Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Second version of Quick Quake2 Installer:

- fixed textures
- replaced old purri pak with new one
- added new purri cfg
- added careem's cfg
- added missing map (match1)


Last edited by careem on Wed Sep 03, 2008 3:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
careem



Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can somebody of admins add to this topic an announcement to be always on top? thnx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
the_doom



Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

imho, too large. You can delete models and sounds of the monsters from pak0. no need to put in every mod maps. ambient sounв from pak0 (it's 20mb) replased by zero sound from pak3. when i pack your quake2 with WINRAR (solid archive + best compress), the size was 117Mb instead 151Mb...

Last edited by the_doom on Mon Apr 06, 2009 2:34 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
purri



Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not to be rude in any way. But 150mb for a full game with some extra candy is not a big download if you ask me. Even with a shitty adsl you get it down in less than 30 mins. I rather have some extra stuff in a install like this so people wont have to look for stuff. This includes EVERYTHING you could need for a game thats been out for 10 years.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
careem



Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the_doom wrote:
imho, too large. You can delete models and sounds of the monsters from pak0. no need to put in every mod maps. ambient sounв from pak0 (it's 20mb) replased by zero sound from pak3. when i pack your quake2 with WINRAR (solid archive + best compress), the size was 117Mb instead 151Mb!!!
I did a similar project (sorry for self-advertising Smile http://rqt-doom.narod.ru/ ) and I had a maximum 70Mb (with wision's hi-rez models pak , maps, pak, ambient sounds). its possible to reduse the size up to 38 mb (q2 + maps + pak) if remove ambient sounds and env textures replace by the black.

so, i think 150Mb its too large Smile but i download it.
ps: sorry for bad eng Sad


Pak3 is orginal new purri pak, didn't want to modify.

Whats the big deal between 117mb and 151mb anyway? As purri said, better have the stuff then be without it.


Last edited by careem on Wed Sep 03, 2008 11:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
name



Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Posts: 348

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In times when people utorrent 9 GB games, does 20 MB + or - makes a difference? However, if some files are obsolete they should be removed.
For example, you,Careem have included 2 paks of mine duplicating same textures as newrdm2 pak already contains textures for other maps as well (so 12 mb space wasted). I would like to see there my latest textures and various fixes instead - all they are in vividdm1.pak. Maybe that's my fault naming them after which map was changed mostly.

But generally, majority of people does not need to go on diet, switch the light off and turn off the heating just because some of human beings still live in a stone age.


Last edited by name on Wed Sep 03, 2008 9:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
careem



Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I will fix that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
careem



Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quick Quake2 installer version3:

- Monsters removed (pak0)
- Monster sounds removed (pak0)
- Maps deleted (baseq2 / tourney / battle / opentdm)
- Maps added in pak3
- Names textures replaced with new name textures
- Added change log.txt
- Added few more Q2 links in readme.txt
- Removed Quake2.exe



DOWNLOAD Quick Quake2 Installer v3


Last edited by careem on Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:01 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
the_doom



Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry, did not want to impose my views. this is your project as you want, and do so. if 40Mb no matter, may be rest as is?
careem wrote:
Quick Quake2 installer version3:
- Monster sounds removed (pak0)

this should be in pak
pak0.pak\sound\infantry\Inflies1.wav
pak0.pak\sound\makron\laf4.wav
Quote:

- Textures deleted from pak0

NO!!! its need for maps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    q2scene.net Forum Index -> Quake 2 All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
BBTech Template by © 2003-04 MDesign